Itinerant Itinerary

30 Jun

Cyrillic alphabet flashcards, money belt, Genie pants, Onesie, antibacterial fast-drying towel, “Through the Embers of Chaos, The Balkan Journeys” by Dervila Murphy

THRILLING 6 COUNTRY ITINERARY!

16 CITIES IN FAR AWAY LANDS!

  •  June 29, 30 Brasov, Romania
  • July 1, 2, 3    Bucharest and the Romanian Black Sea coast
  • July 4, 5       Veliko Tarnovo, Bulgaria
  • July 6            Plovdiv, Bulgaria
  • July 7            Sofia, Bulgaria
  • July 8, 9        Belgrade, Serbia
  • July 10, 11    Sarajevo, Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • July 12          Mostar, Bosnia & Herzegovina
  • July 13, 14    Kotor, Montenegro
  • July 15, 16    Dubrovnik, Croatia
  • July 17           Island of Korcula, Croatia
  • July 18, 19    Island of Hvar, Croatia
  • July 20, 21    Zadar and Plitvice Lakes national park
  • July 22, 23    Bol on the Island of Brac, Croatia
  • July 24, 25    Split, Croatia then back to Berlin!

 What am I getting myself into? This is what I’m wondering as I wait to board my flight to Bucharest. Almost as importantly I ask myself: am I backpacking? I’ve never considered myself a backpacker. Backpackers always seem to be struggling under the weight of their packs, eating things like cheese sandwiches, while wearing obnoxiously colorful Genie pants and battered Birkenstocks…yet here I am with a medium-sized pack, microfiber towel, money belt, and oh yeah, black (stylish and relatively slim) Genie pants. There’s only one thing left to consider, would a ‘backpacker’ take a floral onesie in anticipation of 10 days on the Croatian coast? Opposite end of the spectrum from Genie pants, right?…..right?

The Romanian flight attendant checking me in had no idea about whether I needed a visa or not, and annoyed, I waited while she took her sweet time flipping through my wide selection of expired visas. Like some extra obnoxious know-it-all, I informed her that I was here on a tourist visa, a visa which doesn’t physically exist in my passport. All she had to do was look at the last date of European entry to make sure I hadn’t overstayed my 90 days. After a lengthy phone call, the woman smiled at me saying “its all ok” while printing my boarding card. I already knew “its all ok” but I smiled back, thinking this was a good sign that I was about to take a road less-traveled.

 Although I’d been preparing for this trip for the past three weeks, I still had a hectic last day while getting my stuff together. I managed to ‘finalize’ my 8-page travel document, which meticulously details where I’ll be going and exactly how I should get there, down to the OCD inspired description of where the ticket kiosk is located in Bucharest’s Gara de Nord train station. Nerd! Finding information has been a challenge, and the knowledge I’ve managed to gather is a piecemeal mixture of snippets compiled from friends, online travel forums, couchsurfing.org, and travel guides published two years ago. So, for all of my planning, I’m still pretty sure that I’m going to have to rely quite heavily on the locals for transportation info… But hey! I’m ready to embark on this journey with and open mind and without specific expectations. Hopefully my readers will learn a little something along the way….

One Response to “Itinerant Itinerary”

  1. Billy April 25, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    If some one needs expert view regarding blogging and site-building afterward i suggest him/her to pay a quick visit this blog,
    Keep up the fastidious work.

Leave a Reply

